I’m Ready to Do Something Else Now

Reconciling my writing career

Jenna Goldsmith
4 min readApr 21, 2022
A monarch butterfly sits on a clover flower. The soft green background is diffused and out of focus.
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was about 15 years old. That’s when I decided to look at going to post-secondary schools for a creative writing degree.

In fact, my writing dream goes back farther than 15. My first foray into writing was a 20-page werewolf romance that was a bad rip-off of Twilight, which I’d just read and devoured at the age of 13. It’s the most millennial cheugy (wait, is calling something “cheugy” cheugy?) thing ever, but I’m not ashamed to admit that Twilight got me into writing.

My university career was focused on catapulting me into publication. While I did end up in a more general English program, I was still writing and editing short stories for my blog, joining the creative writing club at school, and applying for a competitive post-grad creative writing course.

One of the happiest days of my life was when I got accepted into that course.

After all the schooling was finished and I was without the structure of academia, it was up to my tenacity and gumption to finish my first novel.

Long story short, that first novel was finished but ultimately shelved without ever seeing the light of day. Well… it saw agents’ inboxes before being turned down by all of them.

--

--